The Great New York Novel?

March 26, 2009 at 09:24

As the day for my departure to New York approaches, I’m inundated with tips from friends about what to do in the Big Apple: where to eat, where to shop, what museums to visit, and what clubs to go to. Everybody has something to say. One almost gets the impression that I’m the last person in the country to visit New York.

I’m obviously very grateful for all these helpful tips, but there is still one aspect of the trip that’s unresolved: what should I read on the flight?

I’ve tried to compile a list of suitable literature, and here it goes:

  • Paul Auster, The New York Trilogy
  • Jonathan Safran Foer, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
  • J. D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye
  • Tom Wolfe, The Bonfire of the Vanities

Any further suggestions for the ultimate literary New York experience are more than welcome.

Entry filed under: Arts. Tags: .

Political Prostitution II A Dog’s Life


Calendar

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

