Decision Time

January 14, 2009 at 07:10 2 comments

So there it was. Yesterday when I returned home from work, I found my voter’s card waiting for me in the mailbox. On February 10 the citizens of Israel will go to the ballots for the eighteenth time to elect representatives to the Knesset.

For me it’ll be the first time around.

Obviously, I’m all for democracy, the ability to influence and all that, but still I await Election Day with mixed emotions. I wasn’t in favor of holding early elections, and I would have been perfectly happy if the current government would have been able to see its four years through. In fact, I was probably the last supporter of the Olmert government in the country. It’s not that I think that he’s such a great Prime Minister or that I think that his government has done such a fabulous job, but because I just don’t know for whom to vote instead.

As long as I lived in Sweden, it was very easy to have an opinion about for whom I’d vote in the Israeli elections. Even though this might sound strange, it shouldn’t surprise anyone who’s familiar with the public discourse in Sweden and the unbearable lightness of having opinions about the Mid East from the safe distance of a few thousand kilometers from the Levantine reality.

Now, however, it’s a completely different ballgame. None of the parties running makes me really enthusiastic — most of them just annoy me, and a few of them are actually quite scary.

Nonetheless, I’ll have to make a decision, and I have to make it pretty soon.

Entry filed under: Politics.

Neighbors in the Blogosphere II Semiotic Confusion

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Yehoshua  |  January 14, 2009 at 07:47

    You better, because I know some people that will stop talking to you if you don’t go to vote (and this is a warning to other potentially fickle individuals… you know who you are!).

    Reply
  • 2. Avichay  |  January 14, 2009 at 11:37

    So what is it going to be? are you going all the way and vote Liberman?
    Go for MERETZ ! despite their stupid and naive campaign against the war, this is still there best and nmost natural choice for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


