All Publicity?

January 27, 2009 at 13:53 1 comment

When a certain kind of Israelis hear that I’m from Sweden, they tend to ask why on earth I would choose to live here when I can actually live in Sweden. Sometimes, like this morning when I went on one of my too frequent visits to the Tax Authority, I ask myself the same question.

On the other hand, Sweden isn’t exactly the land of milk and honey, either. But problems in the northern periphery of Europe aren’t really of any interest to Israeli media, and so the favorable image of Sweden stands strong.

The question is what effect the last days’ examples of anti-Jewish activities in various parts of Sweden, most notably Luleå and Malmö, will have. It certainly reminded me of a good reason to leave.

Judging by the press coverage in the Jerusalem Post and Yediot Aharonot, I might also get fewer incredulous questions about my choice of dwelling in the future.

Entry filed under: Allosemitism.

The Ninth Commandment Excuse of the Year

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Marissa  |  February 1, 2009 at 09:48

    i mean i understand why people ask me why i would live in israel if i could live in new york… but sweden? really?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


