Allosemitism

February 15, 2009 at 18:44 4 comments

After almost a decade in the Holocaust/antisemitism business, I stumbled upon a new term last week: allosemitism. For some inexplicable reason, there still isn’t an entry on Wikipedia for this concept, but I Googled it, and found an article in the Jewish Journal by Ruth Ellen Gruber, which contains a brief explanation:

Coined by a Polish-Jewish literary critic named Artur Sandauer, the term describes a concept with which I am quite familiar—the idea of Jews as the perpetual “other.”

Allosemitism can embrace both positive and negative feelings toward Jews—everything, as the sociologist Zygmunt Bauman put it, “from love and respect to outright condemnation and genocidal hatred.”

At root is the idea that, good or bad, Jews are different from the non-Jewish mainstream and thus unable to be dealt with in the same way or measured by the same yardstick.

Ms. Gruber then goes on to prove how problematic this approach is by quoting her brother, Frank: “People who think Jews are smarter than everyone else don’t have Jewish relatives”.

The whole article can be found here.

I’m so excited. I’ll start using this term all the time from now on.

Entry filed under: Allosemitism.

Associations and Other Occupational Hazards Spat over Sponsoring Supermarket

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruth Ellen Gruber  |  February 15, 2009 at 20:06

    I felt the same way when I encountered the term last summer. I have no idea why it has not gained more use. Glad you found my article.

    Reply
  • 2. Yehoshua  |  February 16, 2009 at 12:22

    I’m noticing a recurring trend – people you write about in your blog, comment on the relevant entries… I hope all your allosemitic Swedesh politican friends don’t start doing the same…

    Reply
  • 3. Mikael Tossavainen  |  February 16, 2009 at 12:37

    I know! Now I’m just awaiting rabbi Ovadia’s reaction to my comment on his Liberman=satan remarks.

    Reply
  • 4. Marissa  |  February 17, 2009 at 09:56

    write a blog about me and ill comment! i hear there is a great article circulating the web about the salute to israel parade… that sounds kinda cool

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts


